Electric Cooperative Leaders Visit State Legislators

Electric Cooperative Leaders Visit State Legislators

Richmond ― More than 150 electric cooperative leaders from across Virginia gathered in Richmond Jan. 29 for Legislative Day activities sponsored by the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives.

The Legislative Day event is held each year and gives electric cooperative leaders the opportunity to visit their state delegates and senators and discuss pending legislation of interest to electric cooperatives.

A&N Electric Cooperative’s legislative-visit delegation this year included Board Chairman Addison Nottingham, Board Members Edward Parks, James Belote, Wayne Browning and Garrison Drummond, Cooperative CEO Butch Williamson and Executive Assistant Janelle Dawkins.

The local delegation met with Del. Robert Bloxom and Sen. Lynwood Lewis to discuss issues facing the cooperative and the Eastern Shore of Virginia. 
Among pending bills discussed with legislators were two of particular interest to electric cooperatives: one a landmark net-metering compromise sponsored by Sen. Glen Sturtevant and Del. Tim Hugo; the other a regulatory-efficiency bill sponsored by Sen. Steve Newman. 

Both bills would benefit electric cooperatives across Virginia if they become law, and both advanced unanimously out of committee and appeared to have good support among the lawmakers co-op groups visited.

“We had a very productive day on Capitol Hill in Richmond today,” said Andrew Vehorn, director of governmental affairs for VMDAEC after the day’s activities.

“Virginia’s electric cooperatives, as member-owned electric utilities, have very strong support among our lawmakers. The Legislative Day visits allow co-op directors and staff to cultivate and reinforce the good working relationships that co-ops have always had with their legislators,” he said.


A&N Electric Cooperative leaders met with local legislators Del. Robert Bloxom and Sen. Lynwood Lewis recently to discuss issues facing the cooperative and the Eastern Shore. Pictured from left are: Garrison Drummond, Wayne Browning, James Belote, Sen. Lewis, Del. Bloxom, Addison Nottingham, Edward Parks, Janelle Dawkins and Butch Williamson.


Page Features: