Cooperative Scholarships

Cooperative Scholarships

Scholarships are awarded by the Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives' (VMDAEC) Educational Scholarship Foundation. An applicant must be entering his/her first semester at a college or a technical/trade school in the fall of the year applied for. Scholarships must be used towards tuition, student fees, room or board and textbooks. More information is posted at under "Community Resources" or

The Scholarship Foundation's board of directors will select recipients based on a combination of the following weighted criteria: financial need at 40 percent; academic achievement at 40 percent and personal statement at 20 percent. Preference will be given to applicants who indicate a planned career as a line worker. Successful applicants will be notified by the date listed on the VMDAEC site.

In 2015, VMDAEC received 353 applications from students in areas served by 15 electric cooperatives in Virginia, Maryland and Delaware. From these, the Board selected 45 applicants to receive the Worth M. Hudson Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 each, one applicant to receive the C.D. Hypes Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 and one applicant to receive the K.M. Beasley Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 for a total of 47 scholarships. Over the past 15 years, 517 students have received a VMDAEC Education Scholarship.

For more information about VMDAEC Educational Scholarships, contact Pam Johnson, Manager of Continuing Education and Training, at or (804) 968-7153.

Truck onepixel (1K)
A & N Electric Cooperative
P.O. Box 290, Tasley, VA 23441
757-787-9750 · 800-431-2632
Contact Us!
Copyright © 1999-2017, A & N Electric Cooperative